Chouteau Grotto Monthly Minutes – Dec 2019

Chouteau Grotto Monthly Minutes

December 13, 2019

President:  David Seidel                                                                      Treasurer:  Kevin Feltz

Vice President:  Rita Worden                                                             Secretary:  BJ Seidel

Other members present:  Dave Webster, Mike Morgan, Jim Huckins, Mag Matlock, Martin Carmichael, Shannon Zaloz, Sandra Galloway

Meeting called to order:  7:40 pm

Committee Reports:

  • Secretary’s report:  Prior minutes motion for approval passed with two corrections
  • Treasurer’s report: $2495.07
  • MSS Director’s report:  Next meeting is January 25, 2020
  • Foresight Editor’s report:  need more reports and photos
  • Quartermaster’s report:  nothing out, everything accounted for

Old Business:

  • Consolidation effort of Chouteau for library and websites of Foresight/minutes/photos tabled for the time being

New Business:

  • Chouteau grotto has been asked to do a cleanup of Elbow cave
  • Kris Corbett has requested a cave trip for him and a friend before he leaves for a job in the everglades
  • Kerry Roland passed away and there will be a memorial at the 35th year anniversary of Ennis cave, including a fundraiser for remaining medical costs
  • Nominations for officers for 2020 are as follows:  Martin Carmichael for President, Rita Worden for Vice president, Kevin Feltz for Treasurer, BJ Seidel for secretary.
  • Voting will occur at the next meeting on Thursday, January 2, 2020

Upcoming events:

  • January 11, 2020– Carroll cave datalogger trip
  • January 25, 2020–MSS meeting at the Missouri Geological Survey in Rolla
  • January 25, 2020–Stark Caverns ridgewalk
  • February 8, Carroll Cave trip

Adjournment:  8:20 pm